This is an archive of the 2013 version of ocTEL.

Mass customisation: lessons for education

Home Forums Enhancement Strategies (Week 8) Pros and cons of new models (Activity 8.0) Mass customisation: lessons for education

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    imogenbertin

OK. I’m going to try NOT to bore the pants off you with detailed definitions of supply chain theories – and I’m no expert, I only did a 30 ECTS certificate in it… But I do think “enhancement” involves knowing a bit about the thinking in this subject area – I hate to tell the man who broke up with the edupunk, but look at the rest of the Internet disintermediation – it’s economics and productivity (aka convenience for the customer) that will change how educational institutions operate in the end. Thing is, if we want education to be based around learner needs, there are some good arguments from supply chain management that might avoid mis-steps.

I enjoyed the videos on Udacity and the Saylor Foundation this week. But I’m really interested in sustainability, particularly in a week where Coursera’s future has been much-discussed online. And mass customisation is the concept that seems to me to have the greatest chance of sustainability.

I’ve been interested for some time in how we could use the developments in learning technology such as OERs and some elements of MOOCs to provide the educational equivalent of mass customisation – keeping costs down yet reflecting personalised learning (think Zara or Sport Obermeyer – why will become more obvious later).