This is an archive of the 2013 version of ocTEL.

12 mongrels wanted: small group for those of no particular pedigree

Home Forums Induction ("Week 0") Small group reflection (Activity 0.5) 12 mongrels wanted: small group for those of no particular pedigree

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 75 total)
  • Author
    doctorjen

Helloooo,

As this activity calls for a small group, and from what I can see most groups seem to be attracting people outside their defined ‘class’ I would like to be part of a group which embraces unfathomable diversity.

I work as an Academic Development officer for the Higher Education Academy – Arts and Humanities – teach for the OU on a blended learning level one arts module, am interested in elearning, digital literacies, digital humanities, any other shiny new pedagogical thing that crosses my path, and am a serial MOOC non-completer.

Our questions for this activity are:

What can we tell about the range of experiences and preferences among ocTEL participants?
    What challenges does this present for the course?
    In what ways is a MOOC well or poorly suited to these challenges?

Who’s in?

Jennie

Seems to me the more mixed-up we are the better we will be able to addresse them . . .

Sharmina

I’m in Jennie! I’m not sure if creating a group on those who teach history and modernity will generate much response, so I’m all for diversity! 2 down, 10 more to go!

doctorjen

Aces! 🙂

Gotta catch ’em all  . . .

Rich Goodman

Sounds like a plan! I’m in!

I’m a VLE Developer, E-Learning Manager, tutor, systems administrator, content creator, former e-mail system administrator, programmer, lecture capturer and many other things besides…

Rich

doctorjen

Hoorah! And then there were three . . .

SolentRoger

I hate being categorised, so I’m in.
    My first MOOC, here for the experience as much as anything.