This is an archive of the 2013 version of ocTEL.

Teaching on University Science Degrees

Home Forums Induction ("Week 0") Small group reflection (Activity 0.5) Teaching on University Science Degrees

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    astsapp

Are there any others out there who are trying to incorporate modern teaching techniques into science teaching? How do you get other staff involved? Are there only social scientists interested in this type of course? A lot of questions, I know, but I am feeling quite lonely in the science world of learning 🙂

Caroline

Hi Caroline,

I’m a statistician / mathematician attached to the science department at a regional campus of a big Australian mutli-campus uni. A lot of my colleagues are trying cool things with modern technology particularly with our off campus students. For example, the chemists have created a series of videos for occupational health and safety induction and to show students how to use instruments and do basic techniques 9I.e. using a pipette).

Jo-ann

Hi Caroline and Jo-ann,

I’m a geologist teaching two courses on Natural Hazards at the ANU in Canberra, Australia.  The most useful web-based tools for my courses are online animations and videos as well as some interactive programs that let the students explore e.g. fundamental principles in physics. There are so many great resources out there that help me visualising my lecture contents 🙂

I also use a web-based platform provided by ANU via which I provide lecture notes, recordings and newly published articles for the students. That works really well, too, and students find it very accommodating.

A teaching colleague told me that he has used online role-play  in postgraduate teaching and he thought it went really well especially when teaching students science communication and discussion skills.

Ulli

KevinWallace

Hi all,