This is an archive of the 2013 version of ocTEL.

Introduction – Teaching basic sciences in a clinical environment

Home Forums Induction ("Week 0") General discussion Introduction – Teaching basic sciences in a clinical environment

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author

I am a recently appointed lecturer in immunology at Glasgow Dental School. I am currently responsible for an overhaul of the pathology teaching (a subject in which students constantly struggle). As part of this I am looking to explore the use of technology to improve the students learning experience. On the whole I have limited experience of TEL. As part of my PGCAP I did a brief module on use of technology mostly from a theoretical stand point. I do use youtube in my lectures for various immunology resources, but apart from this nothing else. I am hoping this course will introduce me to the technologies that are out there and stimulate ideas of how these can be incorporated into my teaching practices. In addition, Im hoping to network with other teachers of basic sciences in a clinical context (medicine, dentistry, veterinary sciences and nursing etc) to share their experiences.

ShunaMarr

Hi there fellow Scots person. 🙂    I am not in the sciences but, in every other respect, what you are looking for from this course is what I am looking for too, so I hope you don’t mind me posting my initial introduction post alongside yours?

My big question for the course is – how can I use the ideas I see on here to improve my teaching practice and make my lectures and tutorials more interesting?