This is an archive of the 2013 version of ocTEL.

Introduction and Big Question

Home Forums Induction ("Week 0") General discussion Introduction and Big Question

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    audrey_alice

Greetings from the small but historic City of Chester (England, UK),
    Just a quick introduction hopefully…
    I have worked at the University of Chester as a Learning Technologist since 2007 and before this post worked within a Business ICT advisory post in North Wales and also as an English Language Teacher in Hong Kong. Each of these roles whilst unique has allowed me to explore how to improve or enhance current practices with the use of technology. Although I have taught and do teach, I haven’t yet completed a formal qualification in teaching and learning. However, I am currently studying an MA in Learning and Teaching in HE and I feel this is improving my practice greatly as I am gaining more of an understanding of learning and teaching from the ‘lecturers perspective’ which I feel is helping me to understand and communicate the reasons for using technology from an academics point of view. I registered to take this course for several reasons. Firstly, to network and learn from other learning professionals, to explore the use of MOOCs and to gain further insight which can inform and improve my everyday practice. One common problem I come across in my role and therefore My Big Question, how do we encourage creativity and mindfulness when it comes to technology enhanced learning?

andyramsden

Hiya, I’m currently the e-learning Development Manager at University Campus Suffolk (UK).

My motivation for participating in this course is primarily to think about how I might use TEL focused MOOCs delivered by other organisations and individuals to develop lecturers at University Campus Suffolk in technology enhanced learning?